No more illusions

No More Illusions

I am an enlightened woman.

I am enlightened because I am of the belief that I have inalienable rights.

I am enlightened because I do not need the validation of others; my mere existence is my validation.

I am enlightened because I am of the belief that my voice should be heard.

I am enlightened because I refuse to let a man, person, society, religion or government confine me to a generalized status quo.

I am enlightened because I am of the belief that the right to protection and safety should be afforded to all, not some.

I am enlightened because I know that my sex does not determine my life’s path.

I am enlightened because I know my body is my own and is not copyrighted nor trademarked.

I am enlightened because I know that whether I am straight or gay, rich or poor, a mother or childless, regardless of skin tone, or whether I wear make-up or none, I am a woman and not an object, not less than.

I am what I was made to be.

by Jamie L T (thank you!)

Leave a Reply

